Dear Santa


I feel like I’ve already got my Christmas present this year in the shape of a little girl, but because the spirit of Santa is munificent I get the gift over and over again. This year the whole family is trooping over to New Zealand to spend Christmas and New Year with my brother, sister-in-law, and nieces and nephew. It’s Maisie’s first Christmas. She’ll have no idea what’s going on, nor will she care, as long as there are plenty of smiles and cuddles and lots of laughter. If we laugh she laughs with us; she’s a true empath and every one of Maisie’s smiles is a gift.

So anyway, Santa if you’re listening, I just have one request: could you have a whisper to Mother Earth and ask her, in the spirit of Christmas, if she’ll refrain from shaking the world? We don’t need presents, we just need to be safe. We’ve got everything else covered: love, laughter, community and goodwill.

If we do experience an Earthquake, let it be minor . . .

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, Maisie Rose and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Santa

  1. vanyieck says:

    As one who’s only experienced one, very minor earthquake, I wholeheartedly concur with your request. Few things make me feel as helpless as the earth beneath my feet shaking uncontrollably.

    • Sharon says:

      Vanyieck, I remember being woken by earthquakes when I was a kid. They were more a nuisance then, but as an adult I have no desire to experience even the slightest tremor again.

  2. jenniferneri says:

    enjoy your family, Sharon, peacefully and quietly.
    have a nice safe trip.

Leave a Reply

