Small package, big wonder


The moment they put her in my arms I knew I had arrived at a place I was meant to be – I was home and I understood my life would never be the same again. The delivery room was filled with doctors and midwives on standby because her heart rate had dropped during labour. I didn’t notice any of them. Every cell in my body was focused on the little person that lay across my chest. My daughter, my little wonder. Everyone who was not a medical professional was crying and there was a sense that something extraordinary was taking place. I’ll never forget the enormity of the first moments of Maisie Rose’s life. She came at 1:47 pm on Wednesday 8th September weighing 7 pounds 3 ounces, with strawberry blond hair and a moon-shaped face. She is the most beautiful creature I’ve ever seen. It’s true what they say about pregnancy and childbirth – all the pain and anguish are worth it. We’re home now after an extended stay in hospital, but mama, papa and baby are all doing well, if not a littel exhausted. I can’t wait to unravel this delight.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, Pregnancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Small package, big wonder

  1. Congratulations!!!!!! You sound so in love … as well you should be. My best to the happy family. 🙂

  2. Debbi says:

    Yippee! Congratulations! I’ve been checking everyday to see if she had arrived yet! I’m so happy for you!

  3. jenniferneri says:

    ooohhhh Sharon!!!!!!!!!!! I am so happppppyyyy for you!!!!!!!! She’s a gorgeous bundle!!!!

    during my labour the baby was in the wrong position and there was cord entanglement and for 5 hours his heart stopped with every contraction (they were long and close together) – I know how scary that is, the extra work to make that baby come NOW and be ok. Then when he arrived, well, i have to say going through that it was quite different from my other two babies who came without complications and super speedy. He’s 4 months today and I still have flashbacks and panics from it….and there, I have laid the foundation for all the other mamas who will come tell their story….
    I hope you recover quick and just enjoy her!

Leave a Reply

