Still going . . .


Week 38. 38 weeks and 4 days to be exact. At this point every minute is a major deal. I’ve had a couple of signs that delivery is imminent, but nothing definitive yet. I don’t know how much more nesting and resting I can do. I am surrounded by family members who are all as anxious as I am to meet the little one. All the women have gathered around me in a protective feather-fluffing huddle and my dear sweet husband is on high-alert. He’s about to be a daddy for the first time so I imagine every instinct is engaged right now. Even my dog is watching me with a protective eye. There’s something primal about bringing new life into the world, but also something deeply satisfying on a spiritual level. I feel blessed that I get to be this little ones mama. We’ve been through a lot together already and now I just want to feel baby in my arms.

Apologies for the gushing post today, but the maternal instinct has me feeling sentimental. This might be my last post before baby’s arrival. I will endeavor to post news of delivery as soon as I’m out of hospital.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, Pregnancy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Still going . . .

  1. Debbi says:

    I can’t wait to “meet” your special little one. Be sure to post pictures — we all love baby pictures!

  2. Lua says:

    Sharon- I’m so excited for you! Don’t forget to keep us posted- even I can’t wait to say a virtual “hello” to the little one 🙂

  3. Don’t apologize for this post, Sharon. I love it. It’s so “Red Tent” powerful. May your delivery be easy and glorious.

    • Sharon says:

      Thank you Linda. I’m not anticipating any problems. This baby has done everything right since the beginning, its the mama that’s had the issues, but with all these clucking females around I feel well protected.

  4. jenniferneri says:

    how exciting! what a time. there is nothing like a first baby, nothing. I am glad to hear all is well. Thinking of you, and wishing you wellness, a speedy healthy delivery. Enjoy your moment.

Leave a Reply

