Pride in your work


Are you a narcissist if you enjoy your own writing?

I’ve been going over some of my old, and even recent posts and have enjoyed the exercise of reading myself with a detached perspective. I don’t like everything I write – indeed, some of it leaves me with a slightly uncomfortable feeling in my solar plexus – but overall the experience has left me with a satisfaction that I am not an entirely terrible writer. When this feeling of pride in my work manifests I hang on to it, since I know it won’t last. I am a natural cynic when it comes to authorship – mine or anyone else’s. My husband says I’m a perfectionist, by which he means fussy and obsessive. I cannot disagree with this assessment, but I also like to think of myself as unpretentious and realistic, when it comes to my writing and the writing market. I’m interested to know if anyone else has any pieces that they enjoy revisiting, pieces that evoke a feeling of pride or gratification. Interestingly for me, the pieces that I dislike the most are the ones that have been received with enthusiasm, and in one case, even published. Perhaps my judgement is clouded by the writer’s experience, rather than the reader’s experience.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, The writer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pride in your work

  1. Jaya says:

    This seems to be common behaviour among people who enjoy writing- and don’t you often find that a piece that you wrote with great care respect bordering on reverence, is now rather embarrassing? I enjoyed this piece, Sharon, good luck!

    • Sharon says:

      Hi Jaya, I’ve had that experience a couple of times with early pieces. I was so proud of them at the time. Now I cringe at the thought of them. Still, they are important to my history and development as a writer and I’ve kept everything.

  2. pclark138 says:

    Great post. I often revisit my work after sometime and feel a sense of delight. It seems that when I’m in the middle of a project I tend to be more critical of it. This probably is an indication that I need some distance.

  3. My husband says the same about me … and I reclassify myself the same as you do! 😀

    My inability to accurate judge my writing is why I so often get discouraged. Actually, I think I need to be a bit more narcissistic. I sometimes read portions of my writing just to boost my confidence, though — like you said — that never lasts long.

    • Sharon says:

      Linda, it’s like looking at a piece of art you’ve created, or anything you’ve spent a lot of time staring at. You’ve spent long hours with this thing, it’s become a part of the space you occupy. It’s only natural for your eyes to seek out those spots you’re less happy with, to find the flaws that you already know exist. In reality, few others see those specs of imperfection. My Aunty is a painter and is so critical of her work in such fine detail. The rest of us can only wonder what on Earth she is going on about. As her audience we see the overall picture, as the creator, she sees every line. I guess it’s the same with writers.

Leave a Reply

