A recurring dream


My nights are plagued by a recurring dream. I’ve had this dream at least a dozen times: In the dream I have chosen to return to high school despite the fact that I have already achieved a bachelor degree and a graduate diploma, yet I cannot seem to keep up with the curriculum. My mind wanders in class, I can’t find my timetable to know where I am supposed to be and I constantly question why I am even at school. I always want to drop out and seldom show up for classes. I feel so bad about my conduct and I’m constantly questioning why I’m trying to get a high school qualification when I already have tertiary qualifications. I know that I want to finish my Masters degree, and could easily re-enroll in a university directly instead of taking the much longer high school route. The underlying question in the dream is this: Why do I keep choosing secondary education over tertiary and then resent my own decision?

A tricky dream that I have yet to decipher. I have an inkling of what it’s about but clearly I haven’t hit the proverbial nail on the head since I had the same dream again last night.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in Dreams, JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A recurring dream

  1. Lua says:

    I’ve never experienced any recurring dreams but perhaps your subconscious is trying to tell you something?
    Brain is such a complex, powerful machine sometimes it’s hard to understand why it’s doing the things it’s doing…

    • Sharon says:

      Lua, definitely my subconcious is trying to tell me something. I guess I must have figured it out because the dream has more or less stopped.

  2. drtombibey says:

    Sharon,

    I used to have one where I signed up for a chemistry class, then forgot to go and made an “F.” Given I was strong in Chemistry and it led me to med school, I often wondered what the dream meant.

    Sometimes I wondered why I got the chance and many smart kids didn’t, some of them just missing by an inch.

    I’m not sure what your dream means, but enjoy learning. You’ve earned the right.

    Dr. B

    • Sharon says:

      Dr B,
      Sounds very similar to my dream. As for why you got the chance and others didn’t, my guess is God saw something in you and chose you for the task because of your overwhelming sense of humanity and compassion.

  3. Pingback: Fairy Pictures » Blog Archive » Fairy Pictures | All New Easy Web Video.

Leave a Reply

