The benefits of an overactive imagination


For as long as I can remember I’ve wanted to do more than is possible for me

I want to see the world from high orbit
I want to fly over Uluru without the support of mechanics
I want to get lost in fictional labyrinths
I want to play soccer on Mars
I want to see an Earth-rise from the moon
I want to meet a real Viking from the first millium
I want to read every book ever written and remember every one of them
I want to climb inside my favourite books
I want to feed the world forever
I want to meet the other me, the one in my nighttime dreams
I want to dance with Anna Pavlova
I want to watch Mozart create
I want to have dinner with Jim Henson
I want to see what is beyond this universe
I want Chief Joseph to tell me a bedtime story
Thank God I’m a writer; I can do it all from my own executive chair

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in Ideas & imaginings, ME ON WRITING, Writing BY S M EGAN and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The benefits of an overactive imagination

  1. drtombibey says:

    ..play my mandolin in Australia…Dr. B

  2. Linda says:

    Oh, yes, yes. I love that you listed these things and then showed us how you can make these things possible. Writing is such a privilege.

  3. Lua says:

    Amazing list!
    I am with you on “I want to read every book ever written and remember every one of them” !
    I also want to meet John Fowles and borrow his imagination for one day… 🙂

  4. Heather Conroy says:

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

