If thinking was a sport . . .


If thinking was a sport, I’d be in the running for the title of world champion.

This morning I got up with my husband, just before 6. I lay on the sofa in that after-sleep torpor, scratching my navel and staring at the ceiling. My husband asked what I felt like doing now that I was up and I said “I’m doing it”. He laughed, but I knew he understood that I wasn’t just lying on the sofa. To an observer who doesn’t know me, I don’t look like I’m doing much most of the time, but if you could see my thoughts it would look like I’m doing mental gymnastics 99% of my waking life. If thinking was a profession then I would never fail, never feel insecure, and I’d show up to work every day on time and motivated.

One of the things I was thinking about this morning was that JK Rowling presentation at Harvard University, which I posted about early on in my blogging life. I’ve decided to link to the video again for anyone who missed it, because she really is worth watching. If you’ve ever struggled with self-esteem, creative confidence, or if you just want to write but you’re afraid of failure, then JK is talking to you.

J.K. Rowling Speaks at Harvard Commencement from Harvard Magazine on Vimeo.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, On giants shoulders, OTHERS ON WRITING, The writer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If thinking was a sport . . .

  1. Lua says:

    Wow- that was an amazing video, thank you for sharing it! I’ve actually never watched it before but it sure is very inspirational… 🙂

  2. Linda says:

    Thank you for sharing that video, Sharon. Her story is indeed an inspiration.

  3. Heather Conroy says:

    This is one of my favourite videos! Amazing! and you know my thoughts on thinking-there is no annual leave in that job!

    • Sharon says:

      Not even a single public holiday. Fortunately night time my subconscious takes over and my conscious mind gets a little break. The brain is an amazing piece of engineering.

Leave a Reply

