Music, food and writing


What more can a girl ask for?

All my creative energy seems to be going into the kitchen at the moment. I’ve baked banana bread, gingerbread, hokey pokey and Anzac biscuits, made vegetable curries and saffron rice, savory pastries, chicken parmigiana, and an experimented with an assortment of spices. Each time my husband comes home from work there are new smells and tastes in the house. While I cook I listen to music – retro is the flavour of this week. What I cook dictates what I listen to: many of the recipes I’ve enlisted were family favourites when I was growing up, so it seemed appropriate to listen to the music that was playing in our house at the time – bands like The Cars, Jefferson Airplane, Led Zepplin, Masters Apprentices and musicians like John Lennon, Bowie and Meatloaf. Music makes the food taste so much better because the experience of cooking it is so much fun. I’m curious how this music will affect my writing . . .

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, ME ON WRITING, The writer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Music, food and writing

  1. Linda says:

    Oh, you’ve made me so hungry! But at this stage in my diet, I’ll be content to taste the baked goodies virtually. 🙂 What is “hokey pokey” though?

    • Linda, I knew someone would ask about Hokey Pokey. It’s a New Zealand biscuit made with golden syrup, baking soda, butter, flour and sugar. They are delicious but very bad – I have to be content with the smell of them alone. I don’t eat them, but make them for my hubby and he just loves them. there is also a hokey pokey ice cream which is sort of like tiny honeycomb balls in vanilla ice cream.

  2. poch says:

    Hi Sharon,
    You’re site’s design is great. I like it.
    I wish you success!

  3. Pingback: Music, food and writing « The sunlit desk | cooktoday

  4. pclark138 says:

    Awesome. Music and food seems to make beautiful harmony for you. I only wish I had cooking skills.

Leave a Reply

