Side effects


Maybe I have a weaker constitution than my fellow double X chromsoners, but pregnancy is hard.  So is living with a mischievous 10 month old puppy – fortunately when he pilfers something from a table or box, he always comes to show me his find so I can rescue it before he kills it within an inch of its life. Anyway, I am almost ten weeks pregnant and still suffering from the proverbial “morning sickness” – or in my case all day sickness.  Still, according to my doctor and my many cheerleaders this is a good sign. At the moment I feel like I’m permanently hung over, but this doesn’t mean I’m not loving being pregnant. It is a unique feeling and always a thrill to hear my baby’s heartbeat and know that his/her little self is growing stronger every day within the warmth of my uterus. I’m already in love with my baby. It’s hard not to be.

This post might be a tad sentimental – another side effect of being pregnant.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Side effects

  1. jenniferneri says:

    Oh, it’s so exciting!!
    I have no experience of morning sickness – it is always all day sickness! I am 27 weeks and still experiecing it many days of the week.
    I wish you all the best, Sharon!

    • Sharon says:

      Jennifer, you poor thing. 27 weeks and still experiencing some nausea! My doc keeps insisting it will go away, but it’s different for everyone. My mother had no nausea or vomiting, others I know had it throughout pregnancy.

  2. Debbi Higginbotham says:

    Congratulations, Sharon! And best of luck. My “baby” will be 23 in a couple of months, but I still remember what it was like. I was on cloud nine the whole time with my first, and nothing seemed to bother me, but, for various reasons, things were not so peachy the second time. I, too, had “morning sickness” the whole day with both babies, but it does eventually pass. Hormones can do amazing things to your body! Hopefully, you have an understanding husband! Mine took over the duties of cook because I couldn’t stand the smell of food cooking, and he’s been doing it ever since!

    • Sharon says:

      Debbi, what a mighty good man you have. I couldn’t cook in the first weeks but am finding now that most of the time it is helping me through the worst of the nausea by keeping me busy – strange since I can’t eat most of what I cook or bake. I like that you still call your baby your baby. I’m almost 37 and my mother still refers to me as her baby.

  3. heather says:

    I’m in love with your baby to- did I say that? Yes I’m still a bit clucky it seems, but only for a moment and then it passes.

    I envy you the opportunity to write about your pregnancy on your blog- there were no such things when I was pregnant. I have to rely on memory, but your musings bring it all rushing back!

  4. Linda says:

    It may be sentimental, but it’s beautiful. I’m long past my pregnancies, but I remember. May your body soon adjust to the influx of hormones and the nausea pass.

Leave a Reply

