Dreams are windows


It amazes me how impressionable the subconscious and imagination is. I’ve been reading The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. The story is told from the POV of a girl (Susie Salmon) who was murdered by a serial killer. She tells the story from heaven, which I think is a clever choice – the narrator has a fairly global view of the world she left behind and what’s going on in the aftermath of her murder. Even if you don’t believe in heaven, the story is a worthy read. Anyway, Susie’s narrative has so affected me that I have dreamed of serial killers for several days. Dreams are a window to the subconscious and a good way to hone in on what drives your imagination. I enjoy the obscurity of dreams. They are mysteries to be unlocked, even the scary ones. Dreams let me know that my imagination is still working.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in Ideas & imaginings, ME ON WRITING and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dreams are windows

  1. jenniferneri says:

    Actually my sister gave me the book as a gift before I had ever heard a word uttered of Twilight. I was lucky. Zero expectations (good or bad). Kept me up for about 3 nights straight reading. Loved it.
    I saw the movie quite a while after reading the book. Actually the glittering was one of the most dissapointing parts. It didn’t ruin the book for me, but it certainly didn’t capture it at all.

  2. Pit Silas says:

    Hi – very great website you have established. I enjoyed reading this posting. I did want to write a comment to tell you that the design of this site is very aesthetically delightful. I used to be a graphic designer, now I am a copy editor in chief for a marketing firm. I have always enjoyed functioning with information processing systems and am attempting to learn code in my spare time (which there is never enough of lol).

  3. Great article. There’s a lot of good data here, though I did want to let you know something – I am running Mac OS X with the up-to-date beta of Firefox, and the layout of your blog is kind of flaky for me. I can read the articles, but the navigation doesn’t work so well.

  4. jenniferneri says:

    hhhmmm, sorry I really didn’t like this one. Maybe just too morbid for me?

    I do love what you have to say about dreams, Sharon!

    newtowritinggirl, oh boy, have you seen twilight the movie?? if you haven’t, I wouldn’t suggest it…

    • Jennifer, it’s a book that is either loved or hated. It is a bit morbid, but I liked the narrative more than the actual plot.

    • Hi Jennifer, I haven’t and I don’t know whether to. I’d like to see how they do certain things (his glittering mainly) but I enjoyed the book so much I don’t want to wreck it by being disappointed with the movie. I think I don’t want to, but will have to because I’m so intrigued.
      Have you read the book? If so did you before or after seeing the movie?

  5. drtombibey says:

    Sharon,

    I dreamed up my whole book. It would come to me as I slept, and every morning I’d rush to the computer to write it down before I forgot what happened.

    Love the look of your blog.

    Dr. B

  6. I enjoyed that book – have you seen it’s been made into a movie? I don’t know if I want to watch it, I’m not a big fan of movies that come from books I like – I think they never (with a few exceptions) live up to the books.

    I’ve just finished reading Twilight and for the first time ever dreamt of vampires!

    Check out my latest post – there’s something for you over there!

    • newtowritinggirl – I’ve heard the movie of The lovely bones is “spooky”. I’d like to see it because I’m curious to see how they’ve adapted it for script. Haven’t read Twilight and don’t intend to.

      • I didn’t want to read it either, I just got sick of people telling me I’d like it, so read it to prove them wrong. Ah, I ended up loving it. But then I love romance and it really is just a romance novel.

Leave a Reply

