For Haiti


I don’t watch the news too often. I’m not interested in the state of the world’s economy, how Dow Jones is sitting today, what Britney Spears did in a shopping centre last week or how many kids “Brangelina” have, and I certainly don’t really care who won the World Cup. When I do watch the news it is usually World News on SBS or the ABC news, which both cover more than the controversial lives of the rich and famous. Most of the time I get my news from the internet. This way I can choose what to read and what to skip and not be exposed to local prejudices. The prejudices are still there, but I don’t have to be exposed to them.

Anyway, because of my sporadic attention to news I have only just heard about the earthquake in Haiti. I felt the same immediate shock and sorrow on seeing this news as I did when I heard about the Victorian bush fires, the 2004 Tsunami, or Hurricane Katrina. The geography doesn’t matter; humans are suffering. Their immediate needs are things that I cannot supply from my desk half way across the globe: clean drinking water, food, medical aid, shelter. I can (and will) send money, but money doesn’t mean much when your water supply has been polluted, your home is in two pieces, and you’ve lost half your family. What I can do, what we can all do, is concentrate our mental and spiritual energy on the victims and survivors of Haiti. No matter who or what you pray to, send out a little prayer for the missing, the injured, those who are lost and especially those who have lost.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For Haiti

  1. vanyieck says:

    I have several close friends who are Haitian immigrants. They know that they’ve lost family and friends, but have not yet learned who. I can’t even imagine how helpless they must be feeling.

  2. Heather says:

    Yes I have been doing that-I feel helpless though and I can’t watch the news because my heart breaks.

Leave a Reply

