Prudence


It’s been hot for about a week now, so progress on the library is slow. Paint doesn’t set in this heat and this writer refuses to work in this kind of weather. It’s been a week where I wish I believed in air conditioners, but alas I cannot justify it in my heart – the planet is far more delicate than my biology, and humanity, after all, is made strong, we are made to endure. And so, most of the work on the library and in the yard is done early in the morning or late afternoon and sometimes well into the witching hour. At times it’s been frustrating that I cannot speed up the process. I guess I’m impatient to have my new writing space. Then, yesterday, while attending a baby shower for a friend thinking that I should be at home either writing, or attending to the million things left to do on the library before its grand opening in two weeks, I had a small, but overdue epiphany.  I watched the mother-to-be, her hands resting across her plump belly, smiling and enjoying the moment, content in the here and now and I thought if it takes me five years to write this blessed book, so be it. Imagination cannot be rushed. As Heather (from Heather Conroy’s Verbal Report) said recently , “you are exactly where you’re meant to be”. This is where Prudence comes in, the third commandment of my 10 commandments of writing. Prudence is not just knowing when not to write; a prudent writer knows the goods are already here, stored in the recesses of the mind, awaiting their summons. All things in good time.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, Ten commandments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prudence

  1. Heather Conroy says:

    While you have been subjected to the worst heat on the Eastern seaboard in the West we have had mild sunny spring weather. Ours is coming though! Thanks for the link up to my blog. I love the revelations that hit you like a bolt of lightning. I think they are the ones that give the best guidance. Your post also seems to be hinting at having patience for getting on writing. My favourite writing guide is one by Robert Boice “How Writers Journey to Comfort and Fluency: A Psychological Adventure ” Unfortunately it’s really expensive but my library has a copy which I take out from time to time. Boice talks a lot about developing patience, constancy, and pacing yourself. Isn’t it amazing how writing teaches us so much? How fortunate that you pay attention to all the lessons that are there for the taking Sharon. I can’t wait to see the updated photos of the library. I hope you get a reprieve in the hot weather soon!

    • Heather, I haven’t read Robert Boice but it sounds really interesting. I have a bit of a passion for books about writing. The weather is a bummer, but I think it’s easing off today. Doesn’t feel as humid at least. I think it’s going to be a hot summer.

Leave a Reply

