Don’t spoil the end


A great vacation, a tasty cake, a good book, the writing of a good book, the big project – whatever the event there comes a time when it must end. As I approach the conclusion of the Bibliotopia project I am left feeling somewhat anxious. I have loved the process of putting together my library and its garden – of what will become my new writing space. Choosing doors, colours, decor and finding the ambiance that I know I need there, has lifted my spirits and given me a fresh sense of purpose that was much needed. Though there is much physical labour to do on my part, the end is in sight and I will be installed in the library within the next three weeks. Which means I will have no excuse but to buckle down and write. Specifically I have to sit down and write the chapters of the novel. But this project, like the novel, has to culminate in order to be able to progress to the next step of life. It is important that I don’t spoil the last days of this project by attending to it as if I was attending a wake. It is the same with writing projects. For the majority of the writing of a piece the writer is able to live in the moment, to craft each word, to address sentences and paragraphs, plots and themes as if they were the only things that mattered, to love the experience of visualising the words, of having them manifest in the mind and transposing them onto the page. But as we approach the end the experience becomes twisted with anxiety. Feelings of disappointment and regret take over where there was once a feeling of unbroken satisfaction. As writers who care about our readers, we must urge ourselves put aside that anticipation and maintain that sense of now. Too many novels drift into a sort of incongruity where the end does not fit the preceding narrative. I suspect this happens either because the author is bored, or because the author knows the book must end and wishes to avoid the burden of ending. My sister once said to me “write as if no one is watching”. I would like to add to write as if there is no end.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, The writing process and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Don’t spoil the end

  1. damyantig says:

    Lovely thoughts here. For someone who is perpetually envisioning ends, this was a meaningful post for me.

  2. drtombibey says:

    Sharon, I am on a kick on my blog to find tunes representative of various geographic areas. I’d love to have my Australian friends weigh in.

    Dr. B

    • Hi Dr B
      One song immediately comes to mind: Kev Carmody From little things big things grow. Kev is a well-respected Aboriginal musician.
      This is Australia by Gangajang .
      You might also like to check out the Australian folk band Redgum.
      Waltzing Matilda is the unofficial national anthem.
      Solid rock by Goanna is also a good one.
      My island home, which I think was originally performed by the Warumpi band. Most Australian’s would know Christine Anu’s version from the 2000 Olympics.

      That’s all I can think of just now. Great idea for your blog by the way. i’ll definitely be checking it out.

  3. drtombibey says:

    A good song can be wrecked with a bad ending, but if it ends right I’m ready to kick off another tune.

    Dr. B

  4. Heather Conroy says:

    Love your post. I hope there will be pictures of the Bibliotopia soon. Again my latest post reflects what you are saying here. I think we may have been separated at birth:)
    Enjoy where you are today-you are meant to be there.

Leave a Reply

