Craft evolution


Of all the books I read as a child, one stands out above all others: Maurice Gee’s The halfmen of O. This a story of a Susan, who, with her cousin Nick, becomes trapped in the world of O. She becomes involved in a quest to restore balance to the world and save it from the evil Halfmen. I read it when I was about eleven and I’ve never forgotten it. Today this book has reminded me of how much I can’t live without my craft, of what it really means to me.

Gee is a New Zealand writer, but apparently his books have a far reach, in fact, I’ve just learned The halfmen of O is to be adapted into a movie. I am at once excited and apprehensive about this. Gee’s writing has stayed with me for more than two and half decades. He was the first author whose writing style I remember really appreciating in equal proportions to the plot. Even as young as I was, I could see the merit in Gee’s style. I wanted to emulate him so much that I wrote several stories that mimicked the book. The imagery of his words and the uniqueness of his style created an atmosphere I easily became lost in. These days I’m less inclined to emulate other authors, since I’ve found the joy of creating my own style. It is in constant evolution. This is one of the best things about writing, and being a writer – the constant evolution of the craft.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, The writer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Craft evolution

  1. Linda says:

    I look forward to the day when so much of what I now have to do consciously will be second nature in my writing. Though, of course, I never want to get to the point where I feel I have nothing to learn. I think my wriiting might become formulaic then.

  2. Heather says:

    And another best thing about writing is that you share your writing with others and it inspires them. Like Gee with you and you with me. Thanks Sharon.

    • Thank you, Heather. I am equally inspired by your blog. I’ve discovered a new fondness for intellectual thinking. I miss being a bioanthropologist sometimes and your blog has given me an outlet to explore that side of me.

  3. jenniferneri says:

    I agree – it can never become boring because of the constant evolution. It is fascinating to watch oneself grow.

Leave a Reply

