The edge of the writer’s universe


I’d like to say I’ve been really busy, too busy for much writing, but that would be an exaggeration of epic proportions. In truth, I’ve been a slothful writer. I have no excuse other than this happens every so often. Every time it does I tell myself it’s okay, it’s only temporary. Mostly I believe that, but a small part of me panics and wonders if this is it – have I come to the edge of my writing universe? In short, no. Inspiration, like the universe, is infinite if you know how to traverse it. The impulse to write, on the other hand, is transitory. I love to write – most of the time. It is a difficult thing to accept this about myself, but no amount of insisting that I love it all the time will work. No human is immune to this truth either. Anyone who loves their job or art will agree that it is impossible to love it in every moment. How do you feel about your craft?

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, Writer's anxiety and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The edge of the writer’s universe

  1. Great post Sharon, and something I think all writers face at times. It’s certainly a pursuit that brings ups and downs. I find often the down times (when writing is tough) has more to do with my mood – if I’m stressed by other things in my life, if I’ve had a rejection of some kind, if I’m worried about something, all these things take up room in my head and can stifle my writing. But like others here have said, writing is a job like any other – we turn up at the desk even when it’s tough, and just write on through it!

  2. drtombibey says:

    I practice medicine, play the mandolin and write. All I really do is walk around and be Dr. B. and someone sends a check at the end of the month. It ain’t a bad gig.

    Dr. B

  3. Linda says:

    At the moment, I don’t love writing query letters. But in general, I just can’t NOT write. I don’t ever really have writer’s block. I may get stuck for a little while on some plot point, but I just switch to another piece of writing until the knot works itself lose. If I can’t write anything else on a given day, I read all my subscribed blogs and write as many comments as I can.

    It’s like the lottery: you can’t win if you don’t play. In writing, the only way to write something fantastic is to write, write, write. It’s a cycle. Writing inspires the desire to write. If I only wrote when I felt like it, I might never feel like it.

    • Linda, you’ve hit the nail on the head. My own motto is the more you write the more you write. You’ve got a very healthy approach to writing – I too try to comment on as many blogs as possible, especially when I’m flailing.

  4. Bill Reed says:

    If their is an edge, an event horizon, to my “writer’s universe” then I may have past over. I have tried to (bravely?) carry on by posting old writings, keeping my blog active, but this hasn’t seemed to have worked very well. I carry on!

  5. Heather Conroy says:

    I agree that it is often writing feast or famine. As long as you turn up with your rice bowl you’ll get fed. I just turn up.

  6. sandysays1 says:

    If readers are thinkers,
    and they are.
    Writers provide them the food,
    for which they yearn.
    What could be a better pursuit? http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

