Chaos


Yesterday I spent most of the day out in the garden, which I’ve dubbed Bibliotopia. I set myself up with music, a comfy cushion and a pot of tea on a porch swing and did some time thinking. It’s surprising how exhausting a day of thinking can make you feel. I thought about my book, about other people’s books, more books I could write and all the books that will never get written. I  had ideas. I wrote one of them down and then thought about the likelihood of it ever being written given my current commitments. I jotted it down anyway to be stored on an index card for that someday when I’ll have time to write it. I have a few of these index cards, but most of the ideas are written on scraps of paper scattered throughout the house, or are locked in my mind. When I was working I used to fantasize about having the time to manifest those ideas into real volumes of text. Now that I have time it is taken up with a thousand other tasks – being a wife, training a 5 month old puppy, taking care of the house, writing a novel, maintaining a blog, trying to launch an online magazine, trying to get through a growing stack of books, and of course, having time to think about doing all these things. I’m 36 years old and I wonder if I will ever get my writer’s brain sorted out and then I think that the chaos is what allows me to be a writer. Chaos is what allows to me propagate ideas in the first place. I guess I’m happier with chaos than without it.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, The writer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chaos

  1. drtombibey says:

    Sharon,

    Much of writing has been my effort to make sense out of the chaos of a crazy world.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

