Writer goes bush


Tomorrow, husband, Bruce and I are headed south from Queensland to a little known area of the mid-north coast of New South Wales. We’ll be staying just outside a little village that goes by the name of Willawarrin, on 124 acres of bushland, with kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, snakes, dingoes and the occasional marauding cow for neighbors. Every day we’ll be deafened by the trill of millions of cicadas and I’ll see more spiders than I care to acknowledge, but it’s going to be great because this is my mum’s home, therefore it is also the home of my heart. I’m travelling to spend time with my family, to go bush and to reconnect with Pacha Mama (Mother Earth), if only for a short while. I’m also going to bury my baby there, beneath a silky oak – a tree Bruce has chosen to commemorate the very brief, but meaningful life of our little one who died in August. This is the act of passing from one journey into another. Journey’s don’t end, they evolve and develop into new ones. In a way I feel as if I am passing my baby into the keeping of this virgin wilderness, and its caretakers, my parents. It is entirely symbolic, but motivated by a mother’s love.

I will attempt to log on once or twice during the act of going bush, but I can’t guarantee it will have any effect – Willawarrin is remote and often incommunicado. This for me is a boon – no sales people, no worry about bills, no telemarketers, lawn mowers, trucks or shouting neighbors – just a million trilling cicadas and the occasional marauding cow.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writer goes bush

  1. RobD says:

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Sharon, I am so, so sorry for you loss. (I have been absent from the blogosphere for some time due to the dramas surrounding Sam’s open heart surgery and my computer crashing at the worst possible moment.) My heart sank when I read your previous posts. Please know you are in my prayers. Like you, I would need to acknowledge and celebrate the life that existed, however brief. Beneath a silky oak sounds like a beautiful place for your precious baby to be. Take care and I hope you find healing and peace on your journey.

  3. oh, i can feel the serenity, im envious

  4. calliopespen says:

    What a beautiful tribute, Sharon. Blessings to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

