old friends


I mentioned in an earlier post that I’ve been reading the Marshall Plan for novel writing. Marshall has a methodical approach to novel writing that doesn’t quite jell with me, nevertheless it’s important to read these guides and glean from it what you can. Even if your discovery is that the method doesn’t work for you, the time and money spent reading it has still been worth it.

Early in the book Marshall discusses deciding what to write. His advice is clear: write what you love to read. I support this 100%, but recently a few questions have popped up. Chief among them is this: what if what you’re good at writing and what you love to read are different?

As a child I read and wrote adventure fiction and fantasy. As an adolescent I tried science fiction. In my early twenties it was historial fiction, including the subgenre prehistoric fantasy. These days my preference is to read and write literary fiction, and nonfiction essays and memoirs. But every now and then I get the yen to go back and write something from the old days. It’s like saying hello to the old self and I often find it flows so freely. Therefore I think it’s far more imporant to write what you love rather than to chosing a genre to read and write in.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in Genre, ME ON WRITING and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to old friends

  1. drtombibey says:

    Ms Sharon,

    I was so touched by the fact you were concerned for my burdens when yours have been so heavy lately yourself. I mentioned you on my blog post today. I really should have dedicated it to you, because with a few short words you 100% got it. I guess that is what good writers do, and I thank you for sharing your gift.

    Dr. B

  2. drtombibey says:

    I love my wife, my children, my patients, bluegrass music, the doctor gig, my blog pals, and a bit of golf. Also I am a spiritual kind of fellow. I found I wasn’t very good at any kind of writing except to explore what I loved, so my genre had to be physician bluegrass fiction with some King James philosophy behind it all.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

