I is for insomnia


I haven’t felt like saying much for a couple of weeks because my brain is in la-la land. Insomnia is hitting hard during the night, leaving me lethargic and unmotivated in the day. My body is busy growing a baby and for now that takes priority. I must be content to write in fits and starts, though I am finding that difficult to adjust to. It feels unproductive, but the more I try to motivate myself the less motivated I feel. This is only a temporary glitch and I’m sure I’ll be back on track in a couple of weeks when the hormones have settled down. For now I am retraining my brain to think like a writer and not just a crazy pregnant woman. This is a more challenging task than I had anticipated, but in this I am single-minded. If you’re in a writing rutt like me instruct yourself to write as it comes and expect creativity to return.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, ME ON WRITING and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I is for insomnia

  1. uninvoked says:

    It never even occured to me that writing might be difficult to do while pregnant.

    Let me know how it goes for you. Every detail. I want to know what I’m getting into after I marry my fiance O.O

    • Uninvoked – Don’t be concerned. Every person is different as is every pregnancy. I’ve heard others say they were more inspired to write when pregnant. My lack of motivation is mostly in my head. I am still writing, but not as much as I’m accustomed to and not what I had formally been writing – the novel. In the meantime I’m actually writing letters to my baby. I plan to have these printed up and bound for her/him so s/he will be able to read it in the future. It’s hugely rewarding. Where there’s a will there’s a way. Being pregnant is a wonderful and very special experience and I wouldn’t change a second of it. Nor would I rewind or change any of the moments I’ve been married to Bruce. Marrying him was what got me out of a long and torturous melancholy about writing. I have no doubt my lack of interest in the novel will pass soon. Besides, while my fingers rest my mind is gathering. A writer never really stops.

Leave a Reply

