Writer/director


I’ve been cooking, gardening and focusing on the house this week. I’ve noticed that even in my down times I’m still writing. When I was a kid I used to physically and verbally act out the scenes in my stories. It was often quite theatrical and mostly I did this because it was a form of play that suited my temperament and vivid imagination. Between the ages of 11 and 13 I started writing plays with my best friend who also loved to write; some we performed in front of our class, some were simply for our own pleasure. We even had the chance to write and “direct” a play for an assignment. I preferred to be in the role of writer/director rather than acting in front of an audience. As an adult I am still a director, but most of the scenes I direct are in my mind. Some of them end up on paper, but the majority won’t make the grade and are destined to be filed in the dusty corners of my mind. I’m ok with that. As long as I keep playing, I’ll keep writing.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in Ideas & imaginings, ME ON WRITING and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writer/director

  1. Pingback: Hooray for friends « The sunlit desk

  2. drtombibey says:

    I figure when I write I am just a kid at play. It keeps an old man young.

    Dr. B

Leave a Reply

