Modes and personas


Recently I made a comment on a published author’s website. The next day I received an emailed response from the author’s personal assistant. It was a nice gesture, but frankly a little underwhelming. Readers are not passive viewers of your craft; readers partake of your work and your work becomes a shared experience. The pages in a writer’s novel, or the words on his/her blog reflect the writer’s inner world far more than he or she might care to admit -in the process of reading a piece the reader learns more about the writer and the writer usually knows nothing about the reader – so I am always surprised when authors choose to distance themselves from their readers, or employ the use of a professional persona when dealing with the “audience” in real time.

I write to reveal and I live the same way. Every word I write is a reflection of my own inner world. Even when a character says something contrary to what I believe, more often than not it reflects real interactions or observations during my life. I have different modes and moods when writing, but my core identity never changes. I am the same person on the page as I am in real time and I am the same as my readers. I never write for an audience and avoid writing for a market, rather, I think of it as writing for communities, mine and others. But most importantly I tend to think of individuals rather than groups – this allows me to use a more intimate voice when writing.

My point is, readers are not groupies to keep at arm’s length. We belong to humanity, to communities and families, but we are always individuals first. Don’t treat readers as strangers or clients, it will reflect in your work.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, Readers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Modes and personas

  1. vanyieck says:

    Writers may try to hide behind their words, but more often than not, we’re betrayed by them.

  2. drtombibey says:

    Ms Sharon,

    I couldn’t agree more. Who’d want a Doc who refuses to talk to you?

    When I write fiction I try to download brain to paper so my reader can get inside my head and understand the life of a country Doc.

    When I read your work I want to understand the point of view of a young married lady in Australia with a dream.

    The fact that an old Doc in rural N.C. has at least some understanding of your life so far away is a tribute to your ability to communicate via the written word.

    Dr. B

  3. dianegallant says:

    That’s the kind of behavior I associate with celebrities.

  4. jenniferneri says:

    Nice post, Sharon!
    Very good point!

Leave a Reply

