Strength of mind


I’ve hardly lifted a finger for a week on account of the dizziness that sometimes accompanies early pregnancy. I’ve loved every minute of it, but now it’s time to get back into writing. The difficulty of getting back into writing after a short break grows exponentially with the time that passes. It’s all about self-discipline. Self-discipline, like the ability to write, is not something we’re born with; it’s something we choose. I learned this during my years of university: schedules, deadlines and pressure cannot motivate a person to achieve goals, strength of mind can. Strength of mind is easier to accommodate than a deadline. With that said, it’s time to get into it.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, ME ON WRITING and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Strength of mind

  1. jenniferneri says:

    I have recently decided it is time I set myself goals in regards to my writing. Every time I had tried I had failed (having young ones) and I gave up for some time, writing only when I could, yet still being productive somehow. Now, I realized that I am at a point where I can set goals without constantly failing to achieve them. So enter self-discipline. At times it is very difficult. Luckily, once I get going I sail 🙂

    • Jennifer. I guess when you’re really serious about writing you find time – you proved that by writing when you could. It might have been twenty minutes or an hour at a time, you might have been tired, but you did it. I hope you can implement a plan for your writing life.

  2. vanyieck says:

    Self-discipline is one of greatest challenges to my writing. One thing I haven’t been able to achieve is the routine of writing every day.

  3. Karen says:

    Sharon, sit tight because if you’re anything like me your creativity will spout forth in tempo with your belly 🙂 When I was in the late stages of pregnancy with my twins I was producing huge amounts of writing and had a lot of ideas. It was so much fun! I’m sure it was all related to the creations unfolding within me… Enjoy the ride!

    • Hi Karen
      I have no idea what to expect, which is both daunting and intriguing. I was a bit concerned that creativity would take a back seat, but I don’t think that’s the case. I’m going to take advantage of this sense of euphoria and write as much as I can in the months ahead.

  4. calliopespen says:

    Congratulations! I hope it passes quickly for you. In the end, it is worth it:)
    Looking forward to seeing more of your posts as you dive back in.

Leave a Reply

