Monday: here we go again


I was a little distracted last week on account of another round of the flu and as a result I didn’t read what I was supposed to and skipped a couple of writing projects. This is a momentary lapse rather than stagnancy. I did learn that a writer needs to take a break once in a while and that I have the potential to become a workaholic. I learned that a writer needs to sit down and read a novel without agenda, watch a TV program without allowing the mind to flit about in spirals, take walks with loved ones and create things other than prose – like pepperoni and sausage soup, which my husband loved. Of all the things I proud of creating last week, that is my number one – that suggested to me that I needed to pause. I learned that when I find myself dragging my heals into the study I need to take a step back and breathe.

Week beginning 6 July, 2009. This weeks writing theme: storytellers

  1. Write about storytellers
  2. Read the power of place – half read
  3. Write about readers
  4. Work on Diary of magnificent things
  5. Anatomy of prose – this is not going to happen. I just can’t get into it and ended up deleting half of it.
  6. Bigfoot hoaxers as storytellers
  7. Post two writing prompts
  8. Style/voice
  9. Read Sync – requires more concentration than I had available this week
  10. Work on novel checklist
  11. Readers journal – it’s not going anywhere
About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, Weekly tasks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday: here we go again

  1. jenniferneri says:

    “I learned that when I find myself dragging my heals into the study I need to take a step back and breathe.”
    Most of the time this is the case with me…but sometimes, I need to shove myself into a chair and just write. It is just words after all, I tell myself. Nothing that cannot be undone…

Leave a Reply

