An idea


I studied racism and prejudice at university, I sign petitions, donate money, go to multicultural fesitvals, enjoy diversity and have even donated time to the cause of eliminating prejudice, but it’s not enough. I want to do more. At this point I am only seeking feedback on an idea so feel free to comment.

The idea: Diversity Through Storytelling Network

This network would be designed to promote diversity through storytelling. It would consist of a website dedicated to stories (and maybe poetry) focused on racism, sexism, homophobia, political and religious prejudice, discrimination against people with a disability and other forms of bias. Participants would be invited each week to write a story – any genre from fiction or nonfiction – on a particular theme. Winners would be published on the website, one from fiction and one from nonfiction. The website would also exhibit photographs and even artwork to promote diversity.

If anyone knows of a website like this please let me know. I’d love some feedback on this idea. Is it viable? Would you participate in something like this?

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, ME ON WRITING, Storytellers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An idea

  1. vanyieck says:

    Many of my stories include people with physical challenges. Most of these are confined to wheelchair. It developed out of writing what I know. Many (half?) of my friends have physical and mental challenges.

  2. calliopespen says:

    Sharon, I think this is a wonderful idea and I would be thrilled to see you get this project up and running. Even if other sites like this do exist, there is always room for one more. Clearly there is much work do be done so the more voices, the better.

  3. drtombibey says:

    Ms Sharon,

    I share your concerns on this subject and sent you an essay by e-mail. If you don’t get this drop me a note. -Dr. B

Leave a Reply

