What do you think? Interruptions


Normally I can write on cue. If I have little time but a spark appears, I usually write myself a note in my phone or on a scrap piece of paper, but I seldom sit down for a writing session without the security of knowing I have at least four hours to play with. This morning I sat down to write knowing I only had a couple of hours.  Now I have to leave halfway through a thought. My muse will accompany me on my outing and harrass me endlessly into hurrying back to complete the writing task. Can you write on cue, or do you wait for sparks and write as the inspiration comes. Do you like a lot of writing time, or are you content to grab it where you can?

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What do you think? Interruptions

  1. vanyieck says:

    I try to write on cue. Sometimes that works, other times, not so much. I guess I need more discipline in my writing habits.

  2. jenniferneri says:

    I grab it where I can. When you said four hours, my breath caught. Wow! four hours! Fantasy:)
    I write when I can whenever I can. I have noticed it’s always there, ready to flow, so when my fingers hit the keypad out it comes, and sometimes it is literally minutes at a time.

  3. drtombibey says:

    Ms. Sharon,

    Things almost always come to me first thing in the morning. I’ll wake up from sleep with an idea in my head and scramble out of bed to get to the computer before it gets away from me.

    I keep a notebook and jot down a few things during the day, but it almost always gels as I sleep.

    My agent always says as the day wears on I start to act like a Doctor, and then I don’t do my best writing.

    Dr. B

    • Dr B,
      You’ve got an intellect and an artist sharing your brain so I guess they’ve worked out a system – one takes the night shift and the other day. The transition is a smooth one at least. In that state of waking the brain is retreating from subconconcious mode so it makes sense that that’s when you do your best creative work.

  4. I just realised I misspelled “cue” twice. The second time I got it half right – a case of thinking too quick for my hands. This has been a demonstration on the importance of editing.

  5. I suppose I can write on cue. Whenever I have spare time, I’ll sit down, and type. Before long, the words are pouring out.

Leave a Reply

