The writer as reader


I was going to review Maps of the imagination: the writer as cartographer by Peter Turchi as a book for writers, but have since realised that I still have no idea what the book was even about. Maps, cartography, Turchi’s chaotic musings? Admittedly, I originally bought the book for the attractive maps sprinkled throughout, and because of these I felt certain the book would make an interesting read. Interesting, yes, but good? As a writer I give every book I pick up a chance. Writers provide a valuable service to society; writers enhance cultural diversity, educate and entertain, and say things that others are thinking, thus all writers deserve to be read. With few exceptions, I read every book to the last word. This is my own reading code that undoubtedly has its roots in the fact that I am also a writer. But if a book fails to grab me I become increasingly disillusioned with its author, sometimes even offended, but, because a fellow writer has produced this work I often end up blaming myself for not loving it – a case of the reader failing the book rather than the book failing the reader. As a writer it is difficult to engage in immerisve reading, which leads me to question if writers are fair readers. I’d like to believe I’m a fair reader, but ultimately I know I read like a writer, and that is why I couldn’t get into Turchi’s pretty book.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, The writer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

