Oh dear: It’s Monday again


In following one of my own writing commandments this week (have the good sense to know when not to write) I’ve broken two of the others: I didn’t write everyday and I engaged in self flagellation for not writing. I have done very well with commandment number 8: read daily.

Not a very good week for tasks though:

Week beginning 15 June, 2009. This weeks Theme: What you know

  1. Write about music
  2. Chapter one of The diary of magnificent things – though I haven’t started chapter one, I have been writing -mainly notes on my mobile phone
  3. Read a book – any book, just get on with the reading list. Read Everything is illuminated (Jonathan Safran Foer) and Celebrated women travellers of the 19th century.
  4. Voice
  5. Mind mapping part 2
  6. Write what you know: what does it mean?
  7. Post two writing prompts/exercises – I posted one
  8. Now for something different – can’t even remember what this one was about
  9. Genre
  10. Get involved
  11. Stating the obvious
About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, Weekly tasks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh dear: It’s Monday again

  1. uninvoked says:

    I should say, I don’t get writer’s block because my mind instinctively knows that even if it pulls an “I don’t wanna!” stunt I will wrestle something from my fingers. If I’m stuck, I just talk about my writing objectively:

    “I am having trouble writing chapter 15. Amy is supposed to get lost in the woods with Bernard and have a screaming match with him over a dead fire in the pouring rain and I just can’t see it.”

    Even if I get nothing else out of it, I have that done.

    • Hi there, uninvoked,
      I don’t get writer’s block, I get lazy. This week has been a week of slacking off. It’s more about motivation than lack of inspiration. I also write about the writing process to get myself motivated. Most of the time it works.

  2. uninvoked says:

    I don’t write every day, but I write so frequently that I don’t have to worry about not being able to write. I don’t get writer’s block.

Leave a Reply

