What do you think? Out of order


The more I try to structure my novel the more anarchic it becomes. It’s difficult to update the word count for a novel when it is being written in a non-ordered way – that is, it’s not being written systematically from beginning to end, but rather in a kind of ad hoc way. I’m not talking about outlining, but the actual construction of the novel. This is not what I initially intended and it’s not what I’m used to and that might explain why I never persevered with my previous novels. Nevertheless, it’s hard to get my head around writing a novel in this when they are usually read in order of pages. Do you write progressively or impulsively?

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, ME ON WRITING and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What do you think? Out of order

  1. I generally write progressively, but every once in a while I write a scene out of order, when inspiration strikes. But I always know where the scene goes in my story. Withmy second novel, I wrote the first two chapters, then the last two. And I wrote my climax last.

  2. vanyieck says:

    There have been times when I’ve written sections of a story or novel out of order. Actually, I find it quite liberating. It seems to so closely reflect life, all hodgepodge an non-sequential. I encourage you to go for it. Embrace the chaos and see what develops!

  3. Karen says:

    I have eventually discovered the truth about myself – I am a plotter. I would love to be a pantser as it sounds so much more romantic, but alas, that is simply not me. So, I use a planning tool called the Snowflake Method that takes me step by step through a planning sequence before I even sit down to my novel. That means that I write in a sequential, progressive fashion – unless my characters stage a coup, which can sometimes happens – and then I go with the flow. Good luck!

    • Karen,
      Thanks. I do have an outline of sorts, but I don’t seem to be able to follow it sequentially during the construction of this particular novel. I’ve read about the Snowflake Method but have never tried it.

Leave a Reply

