Fear of failure


Uncertainty, self-doubt, insecurity, no matter what you call it every writer experiences it. Fear of failure is the root cause for conditions like page fright and writer’s block and a major barrier to personal success as a writer. It’s all very well for me to sit here and tell you about it, but what can you do to combat it so you can write that magnificent book? The truth? I’ve searched my soul for the answer and I’m still figuring it out. So far my figuring (along with discussions with my Swami Guru mother and Swami Sam) has led me to five key words that are helping me begin to confront the fear of failure, thus overcome page fright.

  1. Identify: My Swami Guru mother recently asked me if it was failure I was really afraid of, or success. This led me to think about what success really means to me compared with failure and about how my rigid expectations affect my performance.
  2. Accept: You’re not perfect. You won’t succeed at everything. When you stumble, accept it and move on.
  3. Believe: Having accepted that you’re not perfect, it is important not to give up on your dream. Define your goals and expectations, but be reasonable.
  4. Prepare: The more preparation you do for a project the better and easier it will be to complete.
  5. Persist: I’ve said this several times in different posts, and it’s probably the most important for succeeding with your writing goals. Keep writing, one word at a time.

Undoubtedly I’ve missed some important points here. Like I said, I’m still figuring this one out myself.

See also

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, Writer's anxiety and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fear of failure

  1. vanyieck says:

    Those are fantastic points. I can relate to each and every one of those. Somehow seeing them written out makes the fear less daunting. That doesn’t make it go away completely, just more manageable.

Leave a Reply

