Intubation


I’ve incubated and investigated this idea long enough. It is time to begin. I have character profiles, I’ve played with structure and I’ve even written wee paragraphs and bits of dialogue. I can see it all clearly with my mind’s eye . . . and yet I hesitate. I want to start writing the novel, I really do. There’s nothing like unwinding a story, becoming absorbed into the world within a novel, making those small discoveries that even you could not have predicted. But starting, that is the the most intense moment of the entire novel for me. It’s like watching someone being intubated – the body and mind rails at the intrusion and only relaxes once the tube is in.

Anyway, there is much I could say here about the process of writing, but we all know it’s just a diversion tactic. There is nothing more to do but to lie back and swallow the tube.

“Like all others, he measured the achievements of others by what they had accomplished, asking of them that they measure him by what he envisaged or planned.” – Jorge Luis Borges

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in JOURNAL ENTRY, ME ON WRITING and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

