Passion for prose


Just over a year ago I did a crazy thing and committed one of the cardinal sins in the writing industry:I quit my job as a research assistant so I could write. I probably didn’t give nearly enough thought to this decision; writing was the only thing I ever really wanted to do and it just seemed like a reasonable idea. But is a lust for writing enough for a sustainable career as a writer?

Obviously not, or there would be more published writers than there are active readers. What you need are rock hard balls, a slightly lopsided imagination, a great deal of tenacity and of course the ability to write well. A love of writing doesn’t even seem entirely necessary for some writers. Dorothy Parker had a passion for the finished product, but hated the act of writing it. Dorothy was not alone: a number of writers profess to hate writing. I am not one of them, but I don’t write because I love it. I write because I am driven to, because I want to and because it’s in my blood. I write because I am a story-teller, as all humans are, and because, like Dorothy, I love to have written.

“If the doctor told me I had six minutes to live, I’d type a little faster” – Isaac Asimov

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, The writer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Passion for prose

  1. vanyieck says:

    I can relate. Looking back it seems that writing has been a constant. In fact, there isn’t a period of my life where writing wasn’t integral. I write because I must. Most of the time its a passion; occasionally an obsession. And I admire your career leap. It’s one I don’t have the heart to make.

Leave a Reply

