OneNote saved me


I am an untidy writer. I have index cards in my handbag, scraps of paper all over the place and notebooks with just three lines in them. I admit I like hard copies. But it becomes cumbersome after a while and I’m forever losing track of projects. I still like my index cards and I keep a leather compendium for all those loose pieces of paper one collects over the course of a project, but now I keep a Microsoft Office OneNote notebook too. My current novel requires a great deal of research of seemingly unrelated things. OneNote is a convenient and quick way of storing all that research, as well as notes on the development of the novel. It hasn’t made me a tidy writer, but accessing information while I’m writing has become so much easier and now I can manage writing projects without tons of paper. I highly recommend this program for writers.

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, Software 4 writers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to OneNote saved me

  1. Marcus says:

    Hi Laura,
    As someone who blogged about OneNote, I would love to find ways to cross promote with you – whether we exchange links or you do a guest blog on the http://www.iheartonenote.com or whatever! Please contact me at info@iheartonenote.com to discuss.

    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. Marcus says:

    If you love Onenote, you should head over the to http://www.iheartonenote.com, the world’s one and only community site for OneNote lovers everywhere. If you join between September 22 and September 29, 2009, you will automatically be entered to win a $200 amazon.com giftcard.

  3. Laura says:

    Did you create your own OneNote template, or did you find one somewhere?

    Many thanks.

    Laura

    • Hi Laura
      I hunted for a template, but there wasn’t much available and when there was it didn’t suit my needs. The great thing about OneNote is that you can tailor it to your own requirements. I’d be lost without it.

Leave a Reply

