There is no try . . .


Jedi Master Yoda once said “Do, or do not . . . there is no try”, which is easy for him to say – he can perform Jedi mind tricks. I, on the other hand, am ill-supplied: I have neither his 900 years of wisdom, nor knowledge of the force. I’m human, which means I am at the mercy of human impulses. Still, Yoda has a point: there’s a certain lackadaisicalness to the word try, it lacks resolve, commitment. But how can we move from trying to accomplishment when motivation has rescinded?

No matter how disciplined or committed, every writer will have days when she/he is indifferent to the process of writing, when laziness is far more satisfying or when the project feels stale and the inner Pooh-Pooher is holding court. Far from perceiving this as a lack of ambition or complete loss of interest in the project, I see this as a queue to release myself from the obligation of writing for the moment. Do, or do not. Trying to write through it only creates resentment for the project. Allowing the mind idle during these times is a great way to diffuse any tension which may be burdening the conscious and causing the initial disinterest. By doing something unrelated, the conscious mind is allowed to amble through routine tasks while the subconscious continues to ruminate. As a writer, I’m constantly thinking, but I have come to understand that it isn’t necessary to monitor every thought consciously, that in fact, my subconscious mind is far better at problem-solving than a conscious mind which is frazzled and worn out. Today I’m taking a break from the novel, but I know my subconcious is still working even if I’m not actively partaking in the activity. I have faith that the motivation will return, maybe this afternoon, maybe tomorrow.

Those things that nature denied to human sight, she revealed to the eyes of the soul – Ovid

 

 

 

About Sharon

Writer, bibliophile, dreamer and student of everything
This entry was posted in ME ON WRITING, Writer's anxiety and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There is no try . . .

  1. Pingback: Do or do not « The sunlit desk

  2. maggiedot says:

    Thank you! I’m glad I’m not the only one who refuses to force writing. I realize that it may work for some writers, but for me, it feels pointless because I know I’ll just erase it the next day.

    I think this is why I started keeping a writing to-do list. I work on many projects (though all in various stages–planning, writing, editing, and then *dun dun dun!!!* submitting), so when I’m out of the zone for one project, I move on to something that works a little smoother for me. If I’m being hyper-critical (I read the earlier entry on Gretel–ah so familiar!), I tend to aim for editing projects where I can embrace the editor in my head. If I feel like writing something, but don’t feel like planning something from scratch, then I pull out one of the projects I’ve outlined, but haven’t started yet. It always gets me writing on *something*, even if it wasn’t what I sat down to write.

    But granted, I only have time to write during my lunch break at work, so I always try to work on something or the day feels wasted! ^_^

    Stepping away from a project for a time, however, instead of banging one’s head into a wall has at least always helped me out of tight writing spots. Nice post!

  3. vanyieck says:

    I completely agree. There have been several times when, during a respite, that a flash of inspiration has come. It wasn’t that I’d abandoned my writing. It was that I needed to let it simmer for a while.

Leave a Reply

